cr-logo

Tel +33 (0)4 93 62 97 39
info@chezriviera.com
MA SELECTION

Balcon/Terrasse Vue mer Ascenseur Projet de rénovation Bien rénové Parking Garage

Les impôts et les charges

Impôt de solidarité sur la fortune (ISF)

L’impôt de solidarité sur la fortune (ISF) est payé par les résidents en France qui ont des actifs globaux NET de 1.3 million d’euros le premier janvier de chaque année.

Cet impôt s’applique également à tous ceux qui ne résident pas en France mais qui ont des actifs français (comptes bancaires français, investissements ou immobilier) au dessus de 1.30 million d’euros.

La somme totale comprend tous les actifs des enfants qui ont moins de 18 ans dans une famille. Les entreprises ne sont jamais soumises à cette règle mais les actionnaires individuels le sont.

Des dettes existantes au premier janvier peuvent être compensées par des actifs pour motif d’impôts. Par exemple, un prêt sécurisé sur un bien français au moment de l’achat peut être compensé.

Ceux qui dirigent une agence de location professionnelle avec des biens meublés peuvent être exempts sur la catégorie des actifs professionnels.

Nous vous recommandons de chercher des conseils auprès d’un conseiller financier professionnel quant à votre situation personnelle par rapport à l’impôt de solidarité sur la fortune. Demandez à votre agent de Chez Rivera de vous mettre en relation avec un expert local.

Les droits de succession

Les droits et les taxes de succession sont susceptibles de s’appliquer à tout propriétaire d’un bien en France même s’il réside dans un autre pays.

La loi française considère qu’elle doit protéger les héritiers, ce qui signifie que les enfants ont chacun droit à une part égale des biens du défunt. Ces bénéficiaires ne peuvent pas être déshérités. Un développement récent permet aux étrangers résidents en France de pouvoir choisir la loi de leur propre pays afin de décider qui seront le ou les héritiers. Ce principe ne s’applique pas aux résidents britanniques qui doivent suivre les règles de succession françaises. L’imposition sur l’héritage reste inchangé, c’est la ou les personne à qui sont attribuées ces droits qui change.

Un testament doit être validé par un expert pour qu’il puisse être utilisé par toute autre juridiction. Si vous déménagez en France, il est possible de changer des certificats de mariage au moment de l’achat pour maximiser le contrôle sur l’héritage d’un bien. Il pourrait être bénéfique d’acheter un bien avec une entreprise afin de préserver la flexibilité sur l’héritage et des cadeaux de concessions.

Il est essentiel que vous demandiez conseil auprès d’un notaire ou d’un conseiller qualifié avant de finaliser l’achat.
Pour plus d’informations sur les droits d’héritage, veuillez nous contacter ou demander conseil auprès de votre notaire.

Impôt sur le revenu

Tout revenu que vous gagnez en France est soumis à l’impôt sur le revenu. Il existe des taux de taxe différents qui dépendent du montant des revenus, la personne ou l’entreprise qui est propriétaire du bien, si le bien est meublé ou non etc. L’impôt ne peut être évalué qu’au cas par cas.

Dans certaines circonstances les charges sociales sont payables, mais si votre sécurité sociale se trouve dans un autre pays de l’UE, vous pouvez tout de même avoir droit à un remboursement des charges.

Nous serions ravis de vous mettre en contact avec l’un de nos conseilleurs qualifiés donc n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

L’impôt sur les plus-values

Vous ne payez pas d’impôt sur les plus-values faites sur la vente de votre bien si vous pouvez prouver que le bien est votre résidence principale et qu’il est à votre nom. Si le bien est votre seconde résidence, il y a une déduction progressive des taxes, c’est à dire qu’après 22 ans, votre bien est libre de l’impôt sur les plus-values (et libre des charges sociales après 30 ans).

Si vous n’êtes pas un résident français mais que vous vivez dans un pays de l’espace économique européen (EEE), le taux d’impôt sur les plus-values d’une deuxième résidence en France est à 19%. Si le contribuable ne réside pas dans l’EEE, le taux est à 33,3%.

Si votre sécurité sociale est dans un autre pays de l’UE, vous pouvez avoir le droit à un remboursement des charges.

Pour les résidents français, le taux est à 19% plus 15,5% des contributions sociales (donc 34,5%).

Il y a aussi des charges additionnelles si vous gagnez plus que 50,000€.

Le bénéfice est calculé sur la différence entre le prix de vente et le prix d’achat original. En plus du prix d’achat, certains coûts tels que les rénovations majeures peuvent être réduits.

Après 5 ans, le propriétaire peut ‘augmenter’ le prix d’achat original par 15% pour prendre en compte les rénovations et frais même sans preuve.

Pour plus d’informations sur l’impôt sur les plus-values, nous vous recommandons de prendre contact avec un conseiller financier ou votre notaire. Nous pouvons également vous mettre en relation avec un spécialiste.

Fonds de roulement

Si vous achetez un bien dans une copropriété (résidence ou domaine avec facilités communes), il est possible que vous deviez contribuer aux fonds pour couvrir les coûts exceptionnels tels que la réparation urgente d’un ascenseur, les fuites d’eau, le changement d’une porte d’entrée etc. En général, vous payez une somme décidée que vous devez payer trois fois par an. Le syndic de copropriété vous donnera une synthèse de toutes les dépenses et remboursera le trop perçu. Quand un appartement est vendu, le syndic rembourse le vendeur de leur somme non utilisée et c’est l’acheteur qui doit verser les fonds pour la période en cours. Le notaire vous mentionnera par avance la somme que vous aurez à verser. Toutefois, par sécurité, demandez la au notaire ou à votre agent immobilier.

Charges de copropriété

Si vous achetez un appartement dans une copropriété, vous êtes susceptible de payer des charges de copropriété, qui sont normalement des charges mensuelles nécessaires à l’entretien des parties communes, le salaire du gardien, l’assurance etc. Les vieux bâtiments sans ascenseur dans le centre ville peuvent avoir des charges très basses d’environ 50 euros par mois (souvent moins dans le Vieux Nice), alors que d’autres peuvent s’élever aux alentours des 120 euros et comprennent l’eau et le chauffage. Les résidences luxueuses avec sécurité 24 heures sur 24, un parc, une piscine et un court de tennis peuvent elles s’élever jusqu’à mille euros pas mois. Il est conseillé de toujours bien se renseigner sur les charges.

Taxe d’Habitation

Cette taxe est payée par la personne qui occupe le bien le 1er janvier de chaque année, avec l’exception des locations de courte durée. La taxe d’habitation est aussi évaluée en utilisant la valeur cadastrale. Il faut également que le bien soit habitable, donc si il ne peut pas l’être à cause d’un manque d’électricité ou d’eau ou des rénovations importantes, le bien est exempt de cette charge pendant la durée concernée. Si vous êtes le propriétaire qui occupe le bien, si vous ne louez pas sur de longues périodes, vous serez obligé de payer cette taxe même si vous n’utilisez pas le bien. La somme est souvent proche de celle de la Taxe Foncière. Par exemple, pour un deux pièces à Cannes ou à Nice, vous payerez environ 600 à 800€ (et plus) par an.

Taxe Foncière

Cette taxe est payée par le propriétaire d’un bien. Le coût est basé sur la valeur notionnelle de location, la valeur cadastrale, qui est évaluée par les autorités locales au 1er janvier de chaque année. Les programmes neufs peuvent bénéficier d’une réduction ou une exemption de cette taxe, ainsi que les biens qui ont été rénovés considérablement. Vous pouvez vous attendre à payer environ 750€ par an pour un deux pièces au centre de Cannes par exemple.

Quand vous signez l’acte final chez le notaire, le vendeur aura déjà payé la taxe pour toute l’année. Vous serez donc demandé de rembourser, au prorata, la somme de cette taxe annuelle. Par exemple si vous signez en juin, le notaire calculera la valeur de 6 mois de taxe et vous devrez rembourser cette somme.

L’impôt sur la représentation fiscale

Les résidents outre-mer qui vendent leurs biens en France doivent payer un impôt sur la représentation fiscale qui est aux alentours des 0,65 à 1% du prix de la vente d’un bien si celui-ci s’élève à plus de 150,000 euros. Votre agent à Chez Riviera peut vous mettre en contact avec une organisation qui fait ce calcul pour vous. N’oubliez pas que cette taxe est applicable quand vous VENDEZ votre bien en France mais pas quand vous achetez.

Demandez à votre agent à Chez Riviera de vous mettre en contact avec un conseiller financier fiable.

Si vous souhaitez investir sur la Côte d’Azur, nous vous proposons une agence partenaire qui s’est spécialisé dans la location saisonnière, Sunlight Properties.

Call Back

cr-logo

Tel +33 (0)4 93 62 97 39
info@chezriviera.com
MY SELECTIONS

Balcony/Terrace SeaView Lift Renovation Project Renovated Parking Garage

Taxation and Charges

Wealth Tax (ISF)

French wealth tax or Impôt de solidarité sur la fortune (ISF) is payable by individuals who are resident in France who have NET global assets €1.3 million as of 1st January every year. It also applies to individuals who are NOT resident in France but who have net French based assets (French banks accounts, investments or property) above €1.3million.

The sum total includes any assets that are held by children under 18 in a family. Companies are never subject to this although individual shareholders will be. Existing debts on the 1st of January can be offset against assets for tax purposes. For example a loan secured on a French property at the time of purchase can be offset.

Those who run a professional lettings business with a furnished property may be exempt under the professional assets category.

We strongly advise you to seek advice from a professional tax advisor regarding your personal position with French Wealth Tax. Ask your Chez Riviera agent to put you in touch with the local experts

Inheritance Tax

French inheritance law and tax are likely to apply to those having properties situated in France even if they are resident or domiciled elsewhere in the world.
French law has the concept of protected heirs which means that children are entitled to an equal part of the deceased’s estate. These beneficiaries cannot be disinherited. A recent development allows for French resident foreigners to elect the law of their country of nationality in choosing who receives their estate. This does not apply to UK residents, for example, who must still follow French inheritance laws. It also does not change the taxation of the inheritance, just who it is passed to.

A Will can be either French or English (or both) but must be expertly drawn up so that it will have full effect in any other jurisdiction. If you are considering moving to France, eventually, it may be possible to change marriage contracts at the time of purchase to maximize control of the inheritance of the property. It may be beneficial to purchase the property through a company in order to preserve inheritance flexibility and gift allowances.

It is essential that you seek the advice of a Notary or a qualified advisor before the completion of a sale/purchase.
For more information on inheritance laws in France please contact us or seek advice from your notary.

Income Tax

All income generated in France is subject to French income tax. There are different tax rates depending upon the amount of income generated, the person or company owning the property, whether the property is furnished or unfurnished etc. It can only be assessed on a case by case basis.

In certain circumstances Social charges are payable, though if your social security is taken care of by another EU state (e.g. NHS in the UK) then you may be entitled to a refund of social charges paid in 2013 and 2014. Your claim must be done before the end of 2015.

We will be happy to put you in touch with qualified advisors so please send us an email.

Capital Gains Tax

There is no capital gains tax to pay on the profits from selling your French Property if you can prove that the property is your principal residence and it is held in your personal name.

If the property is a second home, there is a progressive tax deduction which means that you need to wait for 22 years until your property is free of Capital Gains Tax (and free of social charges after 30).

If you are non-French-resident but living in a country in the EEA (eg UK residents), the capital gains tax rate is 19% on rent from secondary homes in France. If the tax payer is not in the EEA then a 33.3% rate is imposed.

If your social security is taken care of by another EU state (e.g. NHS in the UK) then you may be entitled to a refund of social charges paid in 2013 and 2014 if you sold a property in this time. Your claim must be done before the end of 2015.

For French-residents the rate is 19% plus 15.5% social contributions (34.5%)

There are also addition taxes for large gains over €50 000.

The gain is calculated on the difference between the sale price and the original purchase price. In addition to the purchase price certain costs such as some major home improvements can be deducted. Only home improvements carried out by a registered professional can be taken into account.

After 5 years, the owner can ‘increase’ the original purchase price by 15% to account for improvements and expenses even without justification.

For more information on CGT we advise you to contact a qualified financial body or your notary. If you would like us to put you in touch with one then please do contact us.

Sinking Fund

This is known as the “Fonds de Roulement” and if you purchase in a copropriété (an apartment block or a villa in a domain with communal facilities) you may have to contribute to this fund which is used to cover exceptional costs such as the emergency repair of a lift, leakage repairs, changing of entrance doorway etc. It is generally a set sum which is due three times per year. The manager of the property will give a breakdown of sums spent once per year and refund any remaining money. When an apartment is sold, the ‘syndicat’ (property manager) will refund the seller their share of outstanding money remaining in the sinking fund and the purchaser will be expected to contribute this amount back into the fund. The Notary should let you know how much is owed in advance. However, it is always worth posing the question to the Notary or the estate agent.

Communal Charges

If you purchase an apartment in a residential block, or a villa in a domain you are likely to be liable for “charges de copropriété” or condominium charges, which tend to be monthly charges to cover maintenance of communal facilities, the guardian’s wage, insurance etc. Older style blocks without lifts in the town centre may have very low charges of around 50 Euros per month (sometimes even less in the Old Towns), while others may be around 120 Euros but include hot and cold water and heating. Highly luxurious blocks with 24 hour security, parkland, pools and tennis courts may charge many hundreds or even thousands of Euros per month. So it is always worth asking what the charges are if any.

Taxe d’Habitation

This tax is paid by the person who occupies the property on the 1st of January each year, with the exception of short term rental tenants. This tax is probably the nearest equivalent to UK council tax. The Taxe d’habitation is also assessed using the cadastral value. The property has to be habitable, so if it can’t be occupied due to lack of water/electricity or due to substantial renovations it will be exempt from tax during that period. If you are the owner and are deemed to be in occupation i.e. the property is not rented out long term, then you are liable to pay this tax even if you do not use the property at all. It is usually more or less equivalent to the Taxe Foncière. For example, for a one bedroom flat in Cannes or Nice you can expect to pay around 600 to 800€ (and more) per annum.

Taxe Foncière

This is a tax paid by the owner of the property. The charge is based on the notional rental value – the cadastral value – which is assessed by the local authority on the 1st of January each year. New Build properties can benefit from a reduction or exemption from this tax, as can properties which have been substantially renovated. You will be charged on a yearly basis for this tax which is generally very affordable; for example you can expect to pay around 750€ per annum for a one bedroom flat in Cannes centre.

When you sign the final exchange at the Notaries’ office, the seller will have already paid this tax for the whole year ahead. You will therefore be required to refund – on a pro-rata basis – the amount of this yearly tax to the seller. For instance if you sign for a property in June, the Notary will calculate the value of 6 months’ tax and you will be expected to refund this amount.

Fiscal Representation tax

Overseas residents selling their properties will also have to pay a Fiscal Representation tax which is around 0.65-1% of the full sales price of the property if the price is over 150 000 Euros. Your Chez Riviera representative will put you in charge with an organisation who do this calculation for you. Remember this is only applicable when you are SELLING your French Property and not when you are buying
Please feel free to ask your Chez Riviera agent to put you in touch with a trusted financial advisor.

If you are looking to invest on the French Riviera and wish to rent your apartment out to holidaymakers, we have a fantastic holiday rental partner, Sunlight Properties.

Call Back